A Whisper And A Wish

Tuesday, April 14, 2015
“Try to write in this diary every day, okay?” he prompted her. “Write what you’re feeling, what you’re thinking, write down what happens to you. Write your dreams, write your sorrows. Don’t neglect it. During these next few weeks, this little book might become a real friend to you.”
 “Yeah”, Christy whispered, “it might be my only friend.”

Book: A Whisper and a Wish (The Christy Miller Series #2) by Robin Jones Gunn, Focus On The Family Publishing, 1990

Genre: Realistic Fiction
Target Audience: Girls 15-20
Subjects: Dating Relationships, Friendship, Moving, Family Relationships, Drugs
Summary: Move to California? Christy couldn’t be more ecstatic! After all those wonderful relationships she developed over the summer, she’s excited to go back. Except, it turns out her family is not moving to Newport Beach where her aunt and uncle live and where Christy made all the friends. No, they are moving to Escondio, a town an hour and a half away! This is the end of her life. Moving to a new place where she knows absolutely no one and starting over in a new high school is pretty much the most awful thing Christy can imagine right now! When she does connect with some kids from school, it seems their idea of fun is a bit different than Christy’s and one girl in particular, has a different idea of fun than the authorities do! Christy finds herself caught in a situation she never dreamed of when the police have to call her parents. Will anything good ever come of this disaster?
Notes: A Whisper And A Wish is the second book in the original Christy Miller series. In this book Christy starts to grow in her newfound salvation as she faces the trials of moving and starting new friendships.
Teen girls can relate to Christy and her struggles throughout the series, but also see a character who learns, sometimes the hard way, what the Biblical perspective should be. This is the 2nd book in the Christy Miller series. This series has been republished multiple times and is available in multiple forms. This book was supposed to end the story, but later continued with the Sierra Jensen series, the College Years Series, the Katie series and the Married Years series.
Spiritual Content Recommendation Scale: 5/5
Reviewer: J:-)mi

Proverbs 13:30 – He who walks with the wise grows wise, but a companion of fools suffers harm.


Post a Comment

Total Pageviews