King’s Folly

Monday, May 23, 2016
“Everton staggers!” The man’s voice was raspy yet full of authority. “Armania is falling; the king’s words and deeds oppose Athos, defying his glory. He parades his sins, does not hide it. Five Woes to him! He has brought disaster upon himself and all of Armania. Justice will come from the hand of Athos. Stop, Prince of Armania, and answer for the crimes of your father.”

Book: King’s Folly by Jill Willamson, Bethany House Publishers, 2016

Genre:  Speculative Fiction
Target Audience: Boys and Girls 16+
Subjects: Truth, Judgment, Love, Loss
Summary: Whole towns just gone. Yet the earthquakes continue. More and more human sacrifices are offered to the gods yet the earthquakes continue. Prince Wilek longs to be king. Yet, his father refuses to name his heir. All Wilek can do is try to stay on the good side of the monster who sacrificed his little brother to one of his five gods. Treven
assumes he will never be king and focuses on his studies until the beautiful companion to his brother’s betrothed catches his attention. It soon becomes obvious that something more than just earthquakes is happening. Brutal murders occur. Long held secrets begin to be revealed. And rumors increase of the coming of the Five Woes that have long been prophesied. Some want to change the world. Some want to find hope again. Some merely want to survive. All look for truth in a world where the truth has been long suppressed.
Notes: King’s Folly is actually three books combined into one volume. The three were originally released as separate e-books. Now Darkness Reigns, The Heir War and The End of All Things, together make up the first book in the Kinsman Chronicles series.  
This series would be classified as a mixture of fantasy and apocalyptic. The characters are facing the end of their world. There are strange beings and creatures that have supernatural abilities. It’s not really fantasy animals as much as it is two supernatural powers – one good and one evil. And these supernatural powers grant power to humans. The evil power indwells like a demon possession. The good increases an ability beyond what is natural.
The storyline is about the slow unveiling of a one true god who created their land and now brings judgment on it for turning its back on its Creator. It works out the story through two princes trying to survive their father’s impulsive decisions to elevate one son above another at any given time and worse still his willingness to offer as a sacrifice to the gods anyone he is currently displeased with – including a prince.
The story does not yet contain a huge spiritual focus – the characters are just discovering the truth. It is clear that it is developing that way though.
Spiritual Content Recommendation Scale: 3/5
Reviewer: J:-)mi

Romans 2:5 – But because of your stubbornness and your unrepentant heart, you are storing up wrath against yourself for the day of God’s wrath, when His righteous judgment will be revealed.

Thank you to the publishers for providing me with a free review copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion. I enjoyed it!


Post a Comment

Total Pageviews