Fortress Of Mist

Tuesday, September 17, 2013
“The knowledge you already have is worth the world, Thomas. Use it wisely to you’re your own men from the Scots. That is all I can say in that regard.”
“No,” Thomas pleaded. “Who belongs to the strange symbol of conspiracy? Is the Earl of York friend or enemy?”
The old man shook his head. “Thomas, I pray there will come a day when we can trust you and reveal your destiny.”
“We? At least tell me who you are!”
“Thomas, give us a reason to trust. Very soon, you will be offered a prize that will seem far greater than the kingdom of Magnus.”
The torch flared once before dying, and Thomas read deep concern in the old man’s eyes. From the sudden darkness came his final whispered words.
“It is worth your soul to refuse.”

Book: Fortress of Mist: Book 2 in the Merlin's Immortals series by Sigmund Brouwer, Waterbrook Press, 2013

Genre: Historical Fiction/Adventure
Target Audience: Boys and Girls 11-18
Subjects: Faith in God, trust in others, determining who to trust, truth
Summary: “Delivered on the wings of an angel, he shall set us free from oppression” But now that, on wings of an angel, Thomas has set the people free and gained the kingdom of Magnus, his hold is slipping. A strange symbol, a late judgment and a false accusation are all it takes to lose a kingdom like Magnus. Just as it was conquered from within, so shall it fall from within. More is at stake than just his kingdom though. A strange old man and two young ladies continue to appear at random with strange messages for Thomas. Horrid symbols are left as warnings and friends suddenly appear to be enemies. Nothing is sure and Thomas has no clue who to trust.
Notes: Set in England in the dark ages, this series tells of the power those with knowledge have over those with none. It tells of the Druids and Merlins, one with a quest to keep people in darkness, one with a quest to bring the light of knowledge into the world, especially knowledge of God. This series tells of a young boy who was raised by a Merlin who died before revealing all to him. Now he’s alone in the world with no idea who to trust. Both sides want him to join them and neither side knows if they can trust him or not. Both sides are determined to end his life if he chooses to follow the enemy. This is a re-making of the original Winds of Light series. The first 6 books were also compiled into a volume called Magnus, then again into a volume called Wings of Dawn. Unlike the older re-makings, this one changes a lot. The basic story line is the same but the characterization is different. Thomas is made to seem a lot more foolish and immature in this version than in the past. The author adds in extra scenes and explains things more so that the reader is not left in mystery as in the original. My personal opinion is that the original is more well-written and more entertaining. It’s hard to have the main character seem more foolish after reading the originals where he was so well trained that he amazed Sir William. But that’s only my personal opinion. I do overall highly recommend this series. In this, the second book, Thomas has begun ruling the kingdom and continues his spiritual quest. He still does not have many answers, but he continues to seek truth. He likens it to being in a fortress of mist where nothing is seen clearly. His spiritual quest is tied up in the deceptions of those who he trusts. He does get closer towards the end of this book after a conversation with a godly priest who challenges him to put his trust in God.
Spiritual Recommendation Scale: 4/5
Entertainment Recommendation Scale: 5/5
Reviewer: J:-)mi

Psalm 9:10 – Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.

Thank you to Waterbrook Press for providing me with a free review copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.


Post a Comment

Total Pageviews